Mara Liasson http://wcqs.org en Obamacare's Split Decisions Spell Law's Possible Return To Supreme Court http://wcqs.org/post/obamacares-split-decisions-spell-laws-possible-return-supreme-court Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Let's talk now about policy ramifications and political reactions to today's court ruling. For that, we're joined by NPR national correspondent Mara Liasson. Hey there, Mara.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: Hi Audie.<p>CORNISH: So we have, in effect, a split decision. Two appeals courts ruling in different ways. What's the political spin so far?<p>LIASSON: Well, both sides are claiming victory, not surprisingly. The White House says it's extremely confident that when the Supreme Court finally resolves this issue, they will prevail. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 20:14:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 21194 at http://wcqs.org Obama Signs Order To Protect Against Anti-LGBT Bias http://wcqs.org/post/obama-signs-order-protect-against-anti-lgbt-bias Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>President Obama signed an executive order today giving new employment protections to gay and transgender people. And this is for people who work for the government. NPR's national political correspondent Mara Liasson reports that the move comes after years of pressure from LGBT activists.<p>MARA LIASSON, BYLINE: At the White House today, President Obama signed the order saying we're on the right side of history. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:28:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 21140 at http://wcqs.org Amid Roiled Landscape Of Border Politics, Obama's Plans May Change http://wcqs.org/post/amid-roiled-landscape-border-politics-obamas-plans-may-change The Obama administration's request for more funds on immigration could get a congressional vote soon. Meanwhile, the crisis at the border is complicating Obama's plan to take unilateral action to ease deportations. The politics of immigration are shifting quickly. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Thu, 17 Jul 2014 20:27:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 20986 at http://wcqs.org Obama Requests Nearly $4 Billion In Funds To Speed Deportations http://wcqs.org/post/obama-requests-nearly-4-billion-funds-speed-deportations Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>It's ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. Today, a big request from the White House to Congress - President Obama is asking for an emergency appropriation of $3.7 billion to deal with the influx of migrant children illegally crossing the border. The administration would use the money to speed up deportations for children who have no legal basis to stay in the U.S. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 20522 at http://wcqs.org On The Waterfront, Obama Contends Bridge Repair Coffers Beg Refilling http://wcqs.org/post/waterfront-obama-contends-bridge-repair-coffers-beg-refilling Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel. President Obama turned his attention away from immigration and Supreme Court decisions today to highlight the federal Highway Trust Fund. That's the source of financing for road and bridge repair nationwide. The president is calling for new ways to replenish the fund and he did that while standing near a bridge, the one in Washington that's named first Francis Scott Key. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 20:25:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 20214 at http://wcqs.org NPR Poll: In Senate Battleground States, Obama Ratings Lag http://wcqs.org/post/npr-poll-senate-battleground-states-obama-ratings-lag In the key battleground states that will decide control of the Senate this November, President Obama's approval numbers are lower than they are nationally — but not much lower.<p>That's the key finding in <a href="http://media.npr.org/documents/2014/NPR-RR-DC-Senate-Btlgnd-NPR-Only.pdf">a new poll</a>, conducted by Democrat Stan Greenberg of Democracy Corps and Republican Whit Ayres of Resurgent Republic, that sampled likely voters for NPR.<p>In the 12 states with competitive Senate races this fall, only 38 percent of likely voters said they approved of the way the president is handling his jo Thu, 19 Jun 2014 09:01:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 19635 at http://wcqs.org NPR Poll: In Senate Battleground States, Obama Ratings Lag The Challenges Behind Accurate Opinion Polls http://wcqs.org/post/challenges-behind-accurate-opinion-polls This week's stunning defeat of House Majority Leader Eric Cantor came after his internal polls showed him winning — instead he lost by double digits. Fri, 13 Jun 2014 09:02:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 19355 at http://wcqs.org Tea Party Challenger Upsets Eric Cantor In GOP Primary http://wcqs.org/post/tea-party-challenger-upsets-eric-cantor-gop-primary In a surprise result, voters in Virginia's 7th Congressional District have dealt a defeat to House Majority Leader Eric Cantor, nominating Tea Party challenger David Brat instead in the GOP primary. Wed, 11 Jun 2014 00:31:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 19239 at http://wcqs.org With New Order, Obama Aims To Combat Student Debt Pressures http://wcqs.org/post/new-order-obama-aims-combat-student-debt-pressures President Obama is signing an executive order Monday, which will expand a loan forgiveness program for college debt. NPR's Mara Liasson looks at the program and the political salience of the issue. Mon, 09 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 19165 at http://wcqs.org Easy On The Ears: GOP Ads Adapt To Reach Women Voters http://wcqs.org/post/easy-ears-gop-ads-adapt-reach-women-voters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXqHI059n90</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3mG9fNOZp4</p> Sat, 10 May 2014 17:31:00 +0000 Mara Liasson 17848 at http://wcqs.org Easy On The Ears: GOP Ads Adapt To Reach Women Voters