Jeff Lunden http://wcqs.org en 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again http://wcqs.org/post/after-midnight-and-cotton-club-swinging-again <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7-qEZ9zeIJw</p> Mon, 03 Feb 2014 08:30:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 13654 at http://wcqs.org 'After Midnight,' And The Cotton Club Is Swinging Again Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? http://wcqs.org/post/oppression-opera-could-womans-courage-change-pakistan Mukhtar Mai is from a small tribal village in Pakistan. In 2002, her brother was accused of sexually molesting a woman from a wealthy land-owning clan. What happened next was horrifying, says singer and composer Kamala Sankaram.<p>"For retribution, the village council decided that Mukhtar should be gang-raped by four of the men of this clan," Sankaram says. "And what is supposed to happen for a woman after this has taken place is that, not only has she shamed herself, she's brought dishonor to the rest of her family, as well. Sat, 11 Jan 2014 16:31:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 12804 at http://wcqs.org Oppression To Opera: Could A Woman's Courage Change Pakistan? Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last http://wcqs.org/post/broadways-spider-man-musical-turns-lights-last Regardless of how critics and audiences eventually responded, <em>Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark</em> was always going to be one of the most-discussed shows in Broadway history. Fri, 03 Jan 2014 08:26:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 12475 at http://wcqs.org Broadway's 'Spider-Man' Musical Turns Off The Lights At Last New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come http://wcqs.org/post/new-owner-promises-hand-made-steinways-years-come For 160 years, the pianos made by Steinway & Sons have been considered the finest in the world. So when hedge fund billionaire John Paulson recently bought the company, it struck fear in the hearts of musicians: Would the famously handcrafted pianos be changed, for the sake of efficiency? Paulson, who owns several Steinways himself, says nothing will change.<p>Great pianists need great pianos. Tue, 17 Dec 2013 09:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 11840 at http://wcqs.org New Owner Promises Handmade Steinways For Years To Come For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot http://wcqs.org/post/john-kander-new-landing-familiar-spot Broadway composer John Kander is a living legend: With his songwriting partner, the late Fred Ebb, he created the scores for the smash hit musicals <em>Cabaret </em>and <em>Chicago,</em> as well as the enduring anthem "New York, New York."<p>Now, at 86, Kander has a new writing partner — and a new musical, <em>The Landing,</em> opening off-Broadway Wednesday.<p><strong>"Life Goes On"</strong><p>For a guy with such an illustrious history, Kander isn't terribly nostalgic. He's a writer, and he likes to write. Tue, 22 Oct 2013 20:38:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 9468 at http://wcqs.org For John Kander, A New 'Landing' At A Familiar Spot Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors http://wcqs.org/post/chronicle-death-foretold-new-york-city-opera-shuts-its-doors This morning the New York City Opera announced that it was declaring bankruptcy and ceasing operations. Dubbed "The People's Opera" by Mayor Fiorello LaGuardia when it was founded 70 years ago, the company was meant as an alternative to the richer Metropolitan Opera. Tue, 01 Oct 2013 21:59:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 8577 at http://wcqs.org Chronicle Of A Death Foretold: New York City Opera Shuts Its Doors An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars http://wcqs.org/post/american-masterpiece-and-menagerie-stars Pop-culture aficionadoes will know Zachary Quinto as Spock in the cinematic reboot of <em>Star Trek</em>, and Cherry Jones as President Taylor from television's <em>24</em>.<p>But both are accomplished stage actors as well. And tonight, they're opening on Broadway, in a revival of Tennessee Williams' classic play <em>The Glass Menagerie</em>.<p>When the audience enters the Booth Theater, they see a simple, but striking vision. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 20:51:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 8345 at http://wcqs.org An American Masterpiece, And A 'Menagerie' Of Stars 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park http://wcqs.org/post/loves-labours-tuned-and-playing-park A few years ago, after songwriter Michael Friedman and writer-director Alex Timbers had finished working on their cheeky historical musical <em>Bloody Bloody Andrew Jackson</em>, they decided to look for a new project to work on. Friedman says they wanted the next show to have a completely different feel.<p>"So we started looking at Shakespeare," Friedman says. Tue, 23 Jul 2013 21:34:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 5379 at http://wcqs.org 'Love's Labours,' Tuned Up And Playing In The Park Audra McDonald, A Broadway Star Gone Roaming, Comes Home http://wcqs.org/post/audra-mcdonald-broadway-star-gone-roaming-comes-home In the seven years since her last album, <a href="http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15396807" target="_blank">Audra McDonald</a> has kept busy. She spent several years in Hollywood, filming the television series <em>Private Practice</em>. She's gotten divorced and remarried, absorbed the shock of losing her father in a plane crash and watched her daughter, Zoe, grow up from a kindergartener to a middle-schooler.<p>Last year, McDonald returned to New York, starred in <em>Porgy and Bess</em> and won a fifth Tony Award. Sat, 18 May 2013 06:03:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 2243 at http://wcqs.org Audra McDonald, A Broadway Star Gone Roaming, Comes Home 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway http://wcqs.org/post/matilda-brings-beloved-book-broadway <em>Matilda</em> is a well-loved book by Roald Dahl, who's been called the greatest children's storyteller of the 20th century. It's about a much-put-upon little girl with tremendous gifts. Thu, 11 Apr 2013 18:32:00 +0000 Jeff Lunden 551 at http://wcqs.org 'Matilda' Brings Beloved Book To Broadway