Eleanor Beardsley http://wcqs.org en Ukraine's Divide, Too Broad For Easter To Bridge? http://wcqs.org/post/ukraines-divide-may-be-too-broad-easter-bridge Transcript <p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Rachel Martin. Ukraine celebrates Easter today as a divided country. Last week, world leaders met in Geneva to try to tamp down the crisis and end the occupation of government buildings by pro-Russian militants. So far, nothing has happened. Hoping the holiday will calm tensions, Ukraine's interim defense minister called an Easter truce. But despite their common faith, many feel the divide between Ukrainians in the east and west may be too large to heal. Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16933 at http://wcqs.org Despite Easter 'Truce,' Standoff In Ukraine Appears Steadfast http://wcqs.org/post/despite-easter-truce-standoff-ukraine-appears-steadfast In the Ukrainian city of Donetsk, the opposing camps seem increasingly entrenched, despite a diplomatic effort to ease tensions. Pro-Russian forces refuse to leave occupied buildings and public squares in the east. It's an uneasy Easter weekend and neither side is willing to budge. Sat, 19 Apr 2014 21:09:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16926 at http://wcqs.org Both Sides Dig In Their Heels Over Crimea Crisis http://wcqs.org/post/both-sides-dig-their-heels-over-crimea-crisis Ukraine shares a long history with Russia, but the latest crisis is driving a wedge between the two countries and reinforcing a sense of national identity among many Ukrainians. Sun, 06 Apr 2014 15:22:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 16305 at http://wcqs.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea http://wcqs.org/post/culture-unchecked-abuse-thrives-ukraine-and-crimea <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F5GeBpZ5VHY</p> Sun, 23 Mar 2014 16:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15687 at http://wcqs.org A Culture Of Unchecked Abuse Thrives In Ukraine And Crimea As Russia And The West Trade Shots Across The Bow, Kiev Looks On http://wcqs.org/post/russia-and-west-trade-shots-across-bow-kiev-looks Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>The U.S. and Europe imposed new sanctions on Russian leaders today in response to Russia's takeover of Crimea. The Russians responded with their own sanctions. The country's foreign minister accused Kiev of organizing attacks on Russian speakers in eastern Ukraine. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15574 at http://wcqs.org For Crimea, Split From Ukraine Would Be Complicated And Costly http://wcqs.org/post/crimea-split-ukraine-would-be-complicated-and-costly Crimea is a poor region, heavily subsidized by Kiev, and gets all its gas, water and food from Ukraine. Russia doesn't even have a land link with the Crimean peninsula and absorbing it will affect banks, schools, tourism and pensions for residents. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 08:31:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15540 at http://wcqs.org Kiev Mobilizes Thousands Of Troops, Preparing For Worst http://wcqs.org/post/kiev-mobilizes-thousands-troops-preparing-worst The Ukrainian parliament has voted to mobilize 40,000 reservists as Kiev tries to beef up its military following the referendum in Crimea. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15418 at http://wcqs.org Crimeans Vote To Leave Ukraine, Join Russia http://wcqs.org/post/crimeans-vote-leave-ukraine-join-russia Crimeans voted overwhelmingly on Sunday to leave Ukraine and join Russia. Morning Edition checks in with NPR's Gregory Warner in Simferopol and Eleanor Beardsley in Kiev for the latest. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 09:07:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15383 at http://wcqs.org With All Eyes On The East, A Seige Mentality Settles On Kiev http://wcqs.org/post/all-eyes-east-seige-mentality-settles-kiev Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>U.S. Secretary of State John Kerry held last-minute talks with his Russian counterpart, Sergey Lavrov, in London today, but there was no breakthrough. Kerry had been trying to head off the referendum on Crimean secession from Ukraine. That vote is set for Sunday. In a moment, we'll hear more about the situation in Crimea. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 15300 at http://wcqs.org France Takes A Stand, Crushing Ivory Beneath The Eiffel Tower http://wcqs.org/post/france-crushes-ivory-beneath-eiffel-tower Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR NEW. I'm Rachel Martin.<p>This past week, France became the first European country to destroy illegal ivory in a high profile public demonstration. It did so underneath the Eiffel Tower as part of a global effort to call attention to the illicit ivory trade. Sun, 09 Feb 2014 13:00:00 +0000 Eleanor Beardsley 13927 at http://wcqs.org