Board of Directors

The Western North Carolina Public Radio (WNCPR) Board of Directors is legally responsible for the governance of WNCPR as a nonprofit corporation. It also holds the FCC broadcast licenses for the radio stations operating as WCQS. The operation and organization of the Board is outlined in the WNCPR bylaws.

The Board members are selected for their commitment to the mission and goals of WNCPR, and for their expertise in various fields. The individual Directors serve as volunteers, and they meet in formal session as listed below. 

The meetings for 2016 are as follows:

  • Sept 28 - 12:30 pm - Location: Community Foundation of Western North Carolina 4 Vanderbilt Park Dr, Asheville  
  • Dec  - TBA

The meetings are open to the public, and announced in advance over the air on WCQS. For specific details about WCQS Board meetings, please call 828-210-4800 during regular business hours M-F.

To contact the board please write to:

Board of Directors
73 Broadway St.
Asheville, NC 28801

Or email

Ken Brame
Leicester, NC

Connie Haire
Vice Chair
Sylva, NC

Amy Kelso
Asheville, NC

Linda Lewis Nelms
Asheville, NC

Chuck Cloninger
Asheville, NC

Liz Franks
Asheville, NC

Dee Mason
Asheville, NC

Nancy Nehls Nelson
Weaverville, NC

Melissa Wargo
Cullowhee, NC

James Canavan
Asheville, NC

Gwendolyn Whittfield
Asheville, NC

K. Johnson Bowles
Swannanoa, NC

Lynn Killian
Hendersonville, NC

Maggie Ullman
Asheville, NC

Robert Hooper
Asheville, NC

John Feichter
Waynesville, NC